Home Banknote catalog Asia India 2000 Indian Rupee 2016

World paper money

2000 Indian Rupee 2016 banknote details




Currency group:




Extremely Fine


The Indian 2000-rupee banknote (₹2000)

Indian rupee - Currency

The Indian rupee is the official currency of India. The rupee is subdivided into 100 paise, though as of 2019, coins of denomination of 1 rupee is the lowest value in use. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India.


Indian Rupee

   The Indian rupees (Devanagari: रुपया) (sign: ₹; code: INR) is the official currency of the Republic of India. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India. The modern rupee is theoretically subdivided into 100 paise (singular paisa) though this division is purely symbolic; as of 30 June 2011, 50 paise will be the minimum coin accepted in the markets as all denominations below it will cease to be legal currency. Bank notes are available in nominal values of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 rupees. Coins of the rupee have nominal values of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 25 and 50 paise as well as 1, 2, 5 and 10 rupees. The Indian rupee symbol is derived from the Devanagari consonant "र" (Ra) with an added horizontal bar. It is also derived from the Latin consonant "R" without the vertical line, and with two horizontal bars added, (similar in comparison with Yen and Euro symbols). The first series of coins with the rupee symbol was launched on 8 July 2011.

The Indian 2000-rupee banknote (₹2000) is a denomination of the Indian rupee. It was released by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) on 8 November 2016 after the demonetisation of ₹500 and ₹1000 banknotes and is in circulation since 10 November 2016. It is a part of the Mahatma Gandhi New Series of banknotes with a completely new design.
The Indian ₹2000 rupee note is the highest currency note printed by RBI that is in active circulation, ever since the 10,000 rupee note was demonetised in January 1978.
Indian 2000-rupee note